New Mexico Legislation would impose harsher punishment for distracted drivers (HB109)

If passed, House Bill 109 would create harsher punishments for motorists accused of careless driving: Increasing the jail time from 90 days to 1 year and the fine from $300 to $1,000.

In New Mexico, there are two separate charges: reckless driving and careless driving.