Gas tax passes in nearly split vote in Missoula County, MT

Missoula County voters passed a 2-cent per gallon gas tax in the primary election Tuesday night in a nearly split vote with just over half of voters, 51% or 22,059 voters, supporting the tax while 49%, or 21,140 voters, opposed it.

The tax will generate an estimated $1.1 million, which will be split evenly between the city and county for construction, reconstruction, maintenance and repair of public roads.