Home Forums Drunk/Drugged Driving laws and enforcement IID’s- which states are “reporting” states?

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Bliddy Boh 6 years, 9 months ago.

• Author

Mrs. Smith
    Participant

I am new to the IID scene. Our shared vehicle has an IID for our college aged son. “It takes a village” to start a car in our house. We started with Intoxalock/CST. After initial problems (I hit deer while trying to blow), the unit was found to be faulty. It took hours of nerve racking questions on our part to convince them to replace it. In those hours of conversation, I spoke to operators that failed to tell us that Our state is a “non reporting state” and that the only info they send to the DMV is the initial installation confirmation, and if unit had been tampered with, they are obligated to notify the DMV. After that, I was not worried if repeated “too soft” readings or dozens of lockouts would affect our son’s license status. My sympathy is not for drinking drivers, but poor families who share cars with the device in it.

1) For those deathly afraid of the “log results” who live in non reporting states, is there a list of those states available?
    2) Can someone tell me what happens if I unplug the horn? Or remove the horn fuse? I assume the log would record tampering? Has anyone had this happen?

There have got to be ways to make life more bearable for those of us who can’t afford another car, and share the vehicle with a family. Also, are there codes or ways to override the lockout?

Bliddy Boh
    Participant

Most states would have the interlock installed on every vehicle registered to the offender with consequences if the offender is caught driving a vehicle without an interlock.

I would not attempt to tamper with the electronics just in case.

Why not switch your provider? Public transportation can work too.

Mrs. Smith
    Participant