Pennsylvania Motorist Info
The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.
Points of Interest
- Local units of government are not permitted to use RADAR for speed enforcement.
- RADAR must be operated in a stationary mode.
- A RADAR-based ticket can be issued at speeds of 6 mph or more above the posted speed limit. Click here for more information.
- If non-RADAR methods of speed measurement are used and the posted speed limit is below 55 mph, speeding tickets can be issued at 10 mph or more above the posted limit. At posted limits of 55 mph and higher, the tolerance before a speeding ticket can be issued is 6 mph over the posting.
- The speed zone tolerances noted in the previous two items are not applicable to active work or school zones.
- Pennsylvania motorists with ENRADD-based tickets may benefit from Earle Drack’s analysis of ENRADD reliability issues discussed here.
Rural Interstates: Cars 70*, Trucks 70*
Urban Interstates: Cars 70*, Trucks 70*
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 70*, Trucks 70*
*NOTE: Limit of 70 MPH on specific segments based on an engineering and traffic investigation
These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.
Speed limits are absolute–exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se (regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions).
Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Automated Speed Enforcement: No
Aggressive Driver Actions Defined by Statute
None defined. House passed a resolution to encourage drivers to drive courteously and defensively, not aggressively and resolved to support measures that would promote safe driving practices.
Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts
Trial By Declaration Allowed
Allowed with provisions
Jury Trial Allowed
Member of Nonresident Compact
Member of Driver License Compact
When and Where to File Accident Reports
Accidents involving death, personal injury, or the inability of a vehicle to be moved under its own power and requiring towing, must be reported immediately to the local authorities or by calling 911 in cases of emergency.
Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Tort Option Coverage: Full vs. Limited (determines your ability to sue for pain and suffering if in accident)
Minimum Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $15,000 per person and $30,000 per occurrence
Minimum Property Damage Liability Coverage: Varies – see your insurance representative
Required Medical Expense Benefits Coverage: $5,000 of coverage for medical expenses.
Hand-Held Ban: No
All Cell Phone Ban: No
Texting Ban: All drivers
- The BAC level is 0.08 percent.
- Pennsylvania has an administrative suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 1-year driver’s license suspension.
- Handguns must be transported in a securely locked and unloaded fashion in the vehicle trunk or rear storage area unless one possesses a valid state permit; rifles and shotguns must be unloaded and should be cased.
- Studded tires are permitted from November 1 to April 15.
- Tire chains are not required.
- Pennsylvania has a seat belt law with secondary enforcement for all front seat occupants.
- Pennsylvania has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 5 years of age, requiring the use of approved car safety seats.
- Pennsylvania has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law. This has been lifted for adults 21 and older who have either taken a motorcycle class or have 3 years experience.
- Registration and insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.
Telephone: 717/783-5599 (State Police HQ) or contact the court for your particular ticket
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: *11 or 911