Nevada Motorist Info
The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.
Points of Interest
- You can be forced to give breath/blood sample for DWI enforcement purposes.
- Nevada is an “open range” state; i.e., you must yield to wandering cattle. If you hit one, not only is it your fault, but you will have to pay the rancher for his loss.
Rural Interstates: Cars 80, Trucks 80
Urban Interstates: Cars 65, Trucks 65
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 70, Trucks 70
These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.
Speed limits are absolute–exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se (regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions).
Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Automated Speed Enforcement: No
Aggressive Driver Actions Defined by Statute
Within one mile, commits all of the following: 1) speeding; 2) at least two of the following: failure to obey traffic control device, passing on the right off of paved roadway, following too closely, lane violation, failure to yield right of way; and 3) creating an immediate hazard for another vehicle or person.
Note: Increased penalties for subsequent offenses.
Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts
Trial By Declaration Allowed
Jury Trial Allowed
* Felony only
Member of Nonresident Compact
Member of Driver License Compact
When and Where to File Accident Reports
All accidents must be reported immediately to the local authorities and (if the accident results in death, personal injury, or property damage exceeding $350) within 10 days to the Department of Motor Vehicles, Driver’s License Division, Safety Responsibility Section, Carson City, NV 89711.
Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $25,000
All injuries: $30,000
Property Damage: $10,000
Nevada is a “no-fault” state
Hand-Held Ban: All drivers
All Cell Phone Ban: No
Texting Ban: All drivers
Enforcement: Primary: for all offenses
- Open intoxicants are prohibited in the vehicle.
- The BAC level is .08%.
- Nevada has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer cannot be refused.
- Rifles and shotguns carried in a vehicle must be unloaded; handguns may be carried openly or in glove compartment but may not be concealed upon one’s person.
- Studded tires are permitted from November 1 to April 30.
- Tire chains are required when posted.
- Nevada has a seat belt law with secondary enforcement for all occupants.
- Nevada has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 6 years of age and weighing less than 40 pounds, requiring use of approved car safety seats.
- Nevada has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law.
- Registration and insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.
http://nevadadmv.state.nv.us/newresident.htm (New Resident Guide)
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: NHP (647) or 911