Nebraska Motorist Info
The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.
Points of Interest
- The speed limit on several two-lane highways is 65 mph. This includes parts of highways 20 and 83 in the northwestern region of Nebraska.
Rural Interstates: Cars 75, Trucks 75
Urban Interstates: Cars 65, Trucks 65
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 65, Trucks 65
These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.
Speed limits are absolute–exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se (regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions).
Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Automated Speed Enforcement: No
Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts
Trial By Declaration Allowed
Yes. Contact your court for rules and procedures.
Allowed only in felony cases or where imprisonment is possible.
Jury Trial Allowed
Member of Nonresident Compact
Member of Driver License Compact
When and Where to File Accident Reports
Accidents involving death, personal injury, or property damage exceeding $500 must be reported within 10 days to the Department of Motor Vehicles in Lincoln.
Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $25,000
All injuries: $50,000
Underinsured motorists coverage is required.
Hand-Held Ban: No
All Cell Phone Ban: Learner’s permit and intermediate license holders younger than 18
Texting Ban: All drivers
Enforcement: Secondary: for all offenses
- Open intoxicants are NOT permited in a vehicle on the highways.
- The BAC level is .08%.
- Nebraska has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 1-year driver’s license revocation.
- Shotguns must be unloaded while being transported in a motor vehicle; loaded rifles and handguns may be carried in plain view r stowed in trunk; unloaded handguns may be transported in a locked glove compartment.
- Studded tires are permitted from November 1 to April 1.
- Tire chains are not required, but are permitted for safety due to snow, ice, or other conditions.
- Nebraska has a seat belt law with secondary enforcement for all front seat occupants.
- Nebraska has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 6 years of age. Children under age 4 and weighing less than 40 pounds must use approved car safety seats. Occupants 16 years and under riding in the back seat must use seat belts.
- Nebraska has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law.
- Registration and insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.
Telephone: 402/471-2281 (Department of Motor Vehicles)
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: 800/525-5555