Mississippi Motorist Info
The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.
Points of Interest
- Although Mississippi law states that merging traffic has to yield to the mainstream of traffic, Mississippi drivers expect you to move over when on a limited access highway so they can merge from the onramp. Some people do look before they enter the highway, but many do not.
Rural Interstates: Cars 70, Trucks 70
Urban Interstates: Cars 70, Trucks 70
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 70, Trucks 70
These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.
Speed limits are absolute–exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se (regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions).
Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Automated Speed Enforcement: No
Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts
Trial By Declaration Allowed
Jury Trial Allowed
Member of Nonresident Compact
Member of Driver License Compact
When and Where to File Accident Reports
The driver of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to or death of any person or total property damage to an apparent extent of Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) or more shall immediately, by the quickest means of communication, give notice of the collision to the local police department if the collision occurs within an incorporated municipality, or if the collision occurs outside of an incorporated municipality to the nearest sheriff’s office or highway patrol station.
(Mississippi Statute 63-3-411, http://law.justia.com/codes/mississippi/2010/title-63/3/63-3-411)
Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $25,000
All injuries: $50,000
Property Damage: $25,000
Uninsured motorist coverage is required
Hand-Held Ban: No
All Cell Phone Ban: School bus drivers
Texting Ban: All drivers (effective July 2015)
- Open intoxicants are permitted in the vehicle at the discretion of local authorities.
- The BAC level is .08%.
- Mississippi has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 90-day driver’s license suspension for the first offense.
- Loaded firearms may be carried openly or concealed anywhere in a motor vehicle.
- Studded tires are prohibited.
- Tire chains are not required.
- Mississippi has a seat belt law with secondary enforcement for all front seat occupants.
- Mississippi has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 5 years of age, requiring the use of approved car safety seats.
- Mississippi has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law.
- Registration and insurance card are not required to be carried in the vehicle.
Telephone: 601/987-1332 (Highway Patrol Legal Office) or http://www.dps.state.ms.us/ (Department of Public Safety)
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: 47