Minnesota Motorist Info
The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.
Points of Interest
- Minnesota permits residents of other states that allow studded tires to operate in Minnesota under time restrictions and stud length restrictions.
Rural Interstates: Cars 70, Trucks 70
Urban Interstates: Cars 55, 60 or 65; Trucks 55, 60 or 65
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 65, Trucks 65
These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.
Absolute (Exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se–regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions): in municipalities
Presumed (Driving faster than the speed limit is only evidence of unreasonable speed–you can still argue that your speed was safe under the specific conditions): all other speed limits
Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Automated Speed Enforcement: No
Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts
Trial By Declaration Allowed
Allowed with limitations
Jury Trial Allowed
* If misdemeanor
Member of Nonresident Compact
Member of Driver License Compact
When and Where to File Accident Reports
An MPD Accident Report is different from the Minnesota Motor Vehicle Crash Report. Every driver in a crash involving $1,000 or more in property damage, injury or death, must download, complete and mail in the Minnesota Motor Vehicle Crash Report (PDF)
This completed form must be sent to this address within 10 days:
DVS / ACCIDENT RECORDS
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 181
St. Paul, MN 55101-5181
Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $30,000
All injuries: $60,000
Property Damage: $10,000
Hand-Held Ban: No
All Cell Phone Ban: School bus drivers, learner’s permit holders, and provisional license holders during the first 12 months after licensing
Texting Ban: All drivers
Enforcement: Primary: for all offenses
- Open intoxicants are prohibited in the vehicle.
- The BAC level is .08 percent.
- Minnesota has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 1-year driver’s license revocation.
- Firearms must be securely cased and unloaded in trunk or storage compartment of vehicle.
- Studded tires are prohibited.
- Tire chains are required.
- Minnesota has a seat belt law with secondary enforcement for all front seat occupants.
- Minnesota has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 5 years of age, requiring the use of approved car safety seats.
- Minnesota has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law for persons under 18 years of age and for drivers with instructional permits.
- Registration is not required to be carried in the vehicle. Insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.
Telephone: 651/296-6911 (Department of Public Safety)
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: 911