Maine Motorist Info
The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.
Points of Interest
- Maine no longer permits passing on the double yellow line. It is prohibited.
Rural Interstates: Cars 65-75, Trucks 65-75
Urban Interstates: Cars 50-70, Trucks 50-70
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 75*, Trucks 75*
* Two limited access highways are posted at 55
These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.
Speed limits are absolute–exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se (regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions).
Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Automated Speed Enforcement: No
Ticket Payment Options
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts
Trial By Declaration Allowed
Jury Trial Allowed
Member of Nonresident Compact
Member of Driver License Compact
When and Where to File Accident Reports
An accident on a public way or a place where public traffic may reasonably be anticipated, resulting in bodily injury or death to a person or apparent property damage of $1,000 or more, must be reported immediately by the quickest means of communication to a state police officer, or to the nearest state police field office, or to the sheriff’s office, or to a deputy sheriff, within the county in which the accident occurred, or to the office of the police department, or to an officer, of the municipality in which the accident occurred.
(Maine Revised Statutes, section 2251, http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/29-a/title29-asec2251.html)
Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $50,000
All injuries: $100,000
Property Damage: $25,000
Maine also requires an insured’s bodily injury policy to provide coverage equal to or greater than $1,000 per person for injuries sustained by the insured/operator and passengers in the insured’s car.
Hand-Held Ban: No
All Cell Phone Ban: Learner’s permit and intermediate license holders
Texting Ban: All drivers
Enforcement: Primary: for all offenses
* Maine has a law that makes driving while distracted a traffic infraction. 29-A M.R.S.A. Sec.2117
- Open intoxicants are prohibited in the vehicle.
- The BAC level is .08%. Under age 21 the BAC level is .00%.
- Maine has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 275-day driver’s license suspension.
- Firearms must be unloaded and may be carried in plain view while in the passenger compartment; firearms may also be secured in a case or contained in a trunk.
- Studded tires are permitted from October 1 to May 1.
- Tire chains are not required.
- Maine has a primary enforcement seat belt law.
- Maine has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 20 years of age. Children under age 5 must use approved car safety seats.
- Maine has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law for persons under 15 years of age, all drivers with a learner’s permit, and for all persons if driver has had license less than one year.
- Registration and insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.
http://www.courts.state.me.us/index.shtml (State of Maine Courts, Traffic Violations FAQ)
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: 911