Louisiana Motorist Info
The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.
Points of Interest
- Headlights must be used when visibility is less than 500 feet.
- Fines are doubled if there is a RADAR detector in the car.
- In New Orleans, it is illegal to park within 20 feet before a stop sign. These areas are marked out in the French Quarter, but usually not elsewhere.
Rural Interstates: Cars 75, Trucks 75
Urban Interstates: Cars 70, Trucks 70
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 70, Trucks 70
(Rural portion of I-49 DeSoto Parish: 75)
These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.
Absolute (Exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se—regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions): State and interstate highway limits
Presumed (Driving faster than the speed limit is only evidence of unreasonable speed–you can still argue that your speed was safe under the specific conditions): All other limits
Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Automated Speed Enforcement: No
Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts
Trial By Declaration Allowed
Yes. Contact your court for rules and procedures.
Jury Trial Allowed
* For third offense or higher
Member of Nonresident Compact
Member of Driver License Compact
When and Where to File Accident Reports
Accidents involving death, personal injury, or property damage exceeding $500 must be reported immediately to the local authorities or the Office of State Police and within 10 days to the Department of Public Safety & Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles.
Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $10,000
All injuries: $20,000
Property Damage: $10,000
Hand-Held Ban: No
All Cell Phone Ban: School bus drivers, learner’s permit and intermediate license holders, drivers under age 18
Texting Ban: All drivers
Enforcement: Primary: for all offenses
- Open intoxicants are prohibited in the vehicle.
- The BAC level is .08%. Under age 18 the BAC level is .04%.
- Louisiana has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 180-day driver’s license suspension for the first offense.
- Loaded firearms may be carried openly or in the glove compartment or console box of a vehicle; firearms may not be concealed on one’s person.
- Studded tires are prohibited.
- Tire chains are not required.
- Louisiana has a seat belt law with primary enforcement for all front seat occupants.
- Louisiana has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 6 years of age. Children under age 3 must use approved car safety seats.
- Louisiana has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law.
- Registration and insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.
http://www.dps.state.la.us/ (Department Of Public Safety)
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: *LSP