Indiana Motorist Info
The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.
Points of Interest
- In Indiana it is illegal to delay three or more vehicles. You are required to pull over and let the other cars pass at the earliest safe opportunity.
Rural Interstates: Cars 70, Trucks 65
Urban Interstates: Cars 55, Trucks 55
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 60, Trucks 60
These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.
Speed limits are absolute–exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se (regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions).
Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Automated Speed Enforcement: No
Aggressive Driver Actions Defined by Statute
At least three of the following: following too closely, unsafe operation, passing on the right off of roadway, unsafe stopping or slowing, unnecessary sounding of the horn, failure to yield, failure to obey traffic control device, speeding, repeatedly flashing headlights.
DUI / DWI Regulations
Click here for detailed information
Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts
Trial By Declaration Allowed
Yes, under the name “trial by affidavit.” Contact your court for rules and procedures.
Jury Trial Allowed
Member of Nonresident Compact
Member of Driver License Compact
When and Where to File Accident Reports
Accidents involving death, personal injury or property damage exceeding $750 must be reported immediately to the local authorities and within 10 days in writing to the Indiana State Police.
Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $25,000
All injuries: $50,000
Property Damage: $10,000
Uninsured motorist coverage is required
Indiana law requires you to present your insurance card to police officers who pull you over for a safety check or traffic violation.
Hand-Held Ban: No
All Cell Phone Ban: Drivers under the age of 18
Texting Ban: All drivers
Enforcement: Primary: for all offenses
- Open intoxicants in the vehicle are permitted if driver tests below .04% BAC.
- The BAC level is .08%.
- Indiana has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 1-year driver’s license suspension.
- Handguns must be unloaded and cased unless mortorist posesses a valid license to carry concealed; rifles and shotguns may not be carried in a loaded condition during hunting season; however, state law contains no restrictions on carry at other times of the year.
- Studded tires are permitted from October 1 to May 1.
- Tire chains are not required.
- Indiana has a seat belt law with primary enforcement for all occupants.
- Indiana has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 6 years of age. Children under age 3 must use approved car safety seats.
- Indiana has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law for persons under 18 years of age and for all drivers with a learner permit.
- Registration must be carried in the vehicle.
Telephone: 317/232-8250 (State Police Operations) or http://www.in.gov/bmv/ (state government page)
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: 911