Illinois Motorist Info
The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.
Points of Interest
- Recreational vehicles and vehicles pulling trailers are restricted to 55 mph on interstate highways.
- Nonresidents are required to have proof of insurance.
- A nonresident may possess an operable firearm for licensed hunting, or at a Department of Law Enforcement recognized target shooting range or gun show.
- Illinois requires that you have your headlights on whenever you are using your windshield wipers.
- Motorists in Illinois can be ticketed for not using the turn signals.
- You may not make a U-turn at a controlled intersection (light or stop sign) or within 100 feet of one.
Rural Interstates: Cars 70, Trucks 70
Urban Interstates: Cars 55, Trucks 55
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 65, Trucks 55
These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.
Speed limits are absolute–exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se (regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions).
Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Automated Speed Enforcement: Yes
DUI / DWI Regulations
Click here for detailed information
Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts
Trial By Declaration Allowed
Discovery is limited and will probably only be produced at the actual trial.
Jury Trial Allowed
Member of Nonresident Compact
Member of Driver License Compact
When and Where to File Accident Reports
Accidents involving death or personal injury must be reported immediately to the nearest police station or sheriff’s office and property damage exceeding $500 to any one person’s property must be reported in writing within 10 days to the Department of Transportation.
Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $20,000
All injuries: $40,000
Property Damage: $15,000
Uninsured motorist coverage is required
Hand-Held Ban: All drivers
All Cell Phone Ban: Learner’s permit holders younger than 19, drivers younger than 19, and school bus drivers
Texting Ban: All drivers
Enforcement: Primary: for all offenses
- Open intoxicants are prohibited in the vehicle.
- The BAC level is .08%.
- Illinois has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 6-month driver’s license suspension.
- Firearms or ammunition possessed by non-residents must be transported in an unloaded, cased condition in the trunk or storage compartment of vehicle; any other transport mode is prohibited.
- Studded tires are prohibited.
- Tire chains are not required.
- Illinois has a seat belt law with primary enforcement for all occupants.
- Illinois has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 7 years of age. Children under age 4 must use approved car safety seats.
- Illinois does not have a mandatory motorcycle helmet law.
- Registration and insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.
Telephone: 217/785-1434 or http://www.cyberdriveillinois.com (Secretary of State) or http://www.illinoislawyerfinder.com/legalinfo/pamphlets/trafficcourts.html (Illinois State Bar Association Guide to Traffic Courts)
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: 511 or *999