Florida Motorist Info
The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.
Points of Interest
- Florida requires that you have your headlights on whenever you are using your windshield wipers.
Rural Interstates: Cars 70, Trucks 70
Urban Interstates: Cars 65, Trucks 65
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 70, Trucks 70
These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.
Speed limits are absolute–exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se (regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions).
Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Automated Speed Enforcement : Yes
Aggressive Driver Actions Defined by Statute
At least two of the following: speeding, unsafe or improper lane change, following too closely, failure to yield right of way, improper passing, failure to obey traffic control devices.
Note: Violator is cited for specific traffic infraction(s). Issuing officer can select “Aggressive Driving” checkbox on traffic tickets.
DUI / DWI Regulations
Click here for detailed information
Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts
Trial By Declaration Allowed
Yes, under the name “affidavit of defense.” (Search Florida Rules of Traffic Court, rule 6.340.)
Jury Trial Allowed
DWI: Yes, if violation of state criminal statute
Member of Nonresident Compact
Member of Driver License Compact
When and Where to File Accident Reports
The driver of a vehicle involved in a crash resulting in injury to or death of any persons or damage to any vehicle or other property in an apparent amount of at least $500 shall immediately by the quickest means of communication give notice of the crash to the local law enforcement department; however, if the crash involves damage less than $500, no injuries, the vehicles did not need a wrecker, and the crash did not involve an intoxicated or “hit and run” driver, you may download and complete the following report for insurance purposes: http://www.flhsmv.gov/fhp/misc/CrashReport/CrashReport.pdf
Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $10,000
All injuries: $20,000
Property Damage: $10,000
Florida is a “no-fault” state
Hand-Held Ban: No
All Cell Phone Ban: No
Texting Ban: All drivers (effective 10/01/13)
Enforcement: Secondary: for texting by all drivers
- Open intoxicants are prohibited in the vehicle.
- The BAC level is .08%.
- Florida has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 1-year driver’s license suspension for the first offense.
- Firearms may be concealed and loaded while carried in a private vehicle provided they are “securely encased or otherwise not readily accessible.”
- Studded tires are permitted. Metal studs are prohibited.
- Tire chains are not required.
- Florida has a seat belt law with primary enforcement.
- Florida has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 16 years of age. Children under age 4 must use approved car safety seats.
- Registration and insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.
http://www.flhsmv.gov/ddl/faqsuspend.html (Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles) and/or the website for the particular county of your ticket
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: FHP (347)