Delaware Motorist Info
The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.
Rural Interstates: Cars 65, Trucks 65
Urban Interstates: Cars 55, Trucks 55
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 65, Trucks 65
These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.
Speed limits are absolute–exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se (regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions).
Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Automated Speed Enforcement: No
Aggressive Driver Actions Defined by Statute
At least three of the following: failure to obey traffic control device, passing on the right, driving outside the lanes of traffic, following too closely, failure to yield right of way, failure to signal, failure to stop or yield at signs, passing a stopped school bus, speeding.
DUI / DWI Regulations
Click here for detailed information
Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of court
Trial By Declaration Allowed
Jury Trial Allowed
Member of Nonresident Compact
Member of Driver License Compact
When and Where to File Accident Reports
Accidents involving death, personal injury, or property damage exceeding $500 must be reported immediately to the nearest state police or local police agency.
Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $15,000
All injuries: $30,000
Hand-Held Ban: All drivers
All Cell Phone Ban: Learner’s permit and intermediate license holders and school bus drivers
Texting Ban: All drivers
Enforcement: Primary: for all offenses
- A loaded handgun may be carried openly or secured in the trunk if hidden from view; rifles and shotguns must be unloaded when carried in any motor vehicle.
- Studded tires are permitted from October 15 to April 15.
- Tire chains are not required.
- Delaware has a seat belt law with primary enforcement for all occupants.
- Delaware has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 17 years of age. Children under age 4 must use approved car safety seats.
- Delaware has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law for persons under 19 years of age and all drivers with instructional permit. Any person 19 years of age or over must have a helmet in his/her possession when operating or riding a motorcycle.
- Registration and insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: 911