Alabama Motorist Info
The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.
Points of Interest
- On a multi-lane, divided highway, when a school bus stops, all lanes on both sides of the median must stop, even if it is a wide median.
- Signs warning of a speed limit drop need not be posted in urban areas, and in practice generally are not.
- Alabama requires that you have your headlights on whenever you are using your windshield wipers.
Rural Interstates: Cars 70, Trucks 70
Urban Interstates: Cars 65, Trucks 65
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 65, Trucks 65
These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.
Speed limits are absolute–exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se (regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions).
Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Automated Speed Enforcement: No
DUI / DWI Regulations
Click here for detailed information
Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts
Trial By Declaration Allowed
Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure – Rule 16
Jury Trial Allowed
* Jury trial allowed on appeal
Member of Nonresident Compact
Member of Driver License Compact
When and Where to File Accident Report
The driver of any motor vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to or the death of any person shall immediately by the quickest means of communication give notice of such accident to the local police department if such accident occurs within a municipality; otherwise to the office of the county sheriff or to the state highway patrol.
(Alabama Acts 1943, No. 558, p. 548, §6., http://law.justia.com/alabama/codes/22786/32-10-5.html)
Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $20,000
All injuries: $40,000
Property Damage: $10,000
Uninsured motorist coverage is required
Hand-Held Ban: No
All Cell Phone Ban: Drivers age 16 and 17 who have held an intermediate license for less than 6 months
Texting Ban: All drivers
Enforcement: Primary: texting by all drivers/Secondary: cell phone use by young drivers
- Open intoxicants are prohibited in the vehicle in dry counties and permitted in the vehicle in wet counties.
- Handguns must be unloaded and cased in the trunk or storage areas unless one has a recognized permit to carry; loaded rifles and shotguns may be carried in the passenger area in plain view or secured in a gun case.
- Metal studs on tires are prohibited.
- Tire chains are not required.
- Alabama has a seat belt law with primary enforcement for all front seat occupants.
- Alabama has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 7 years of age. Children under age 4 must use approved car safety seats.
- Alabama has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law.
- Registration and insurance card are not required to be carried in the vehicle.
Telephone: 334/242-4445 (Public Information)
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: HP (47) or 334/242-4378