Write Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti Today over RLC refund promise in Watts

Dear NMA Los Angeles Area Members,

David Goldstein, an intrepid TV reporter with the local CBS affiliate in Los Angeles, filed this story on March 1st in which Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti acknowledges that motorists who received red-light camera tickets at the Metro Blue Line crossing at East Century Blvd. and Grandee Avenue in Watts should get a refund from the Los Angeles Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA).

Because of complaints that the light phasing was confusing, the MTA is redesigning the intersection which sparked Garcetti’s call for refunds.  In addition to being LA mayor, Garcetti is on the MTA board of directors.

Nearly $400,000 worth of RLC tickets were issued at that intersection in 2015 and 2016. Despite Garcetti’s call, the MTA has not yet issued refunds.

NMA members in the Los Angeles area should write to Garcetti demanding that he use his position on the MTA board to insist that the agency return the fines that were collected due to violations issued at the intersection in question.

Write your emails and letters to the mayor and also copy the CEO of the Los Angeles County MTA is Phillip A. Washington (and all other MTA Board Members as listed below).

Mayor Eric Garcetti

City of Los Angeles

200 N. Spring St.,

Los Angeles, CA 90012



In addition to your email or letter, use the mayor’s online portal with your concern: https://www.lamayor.org/talk-us

Here is a link to the objections that the NMA has towards red-light cameras that you can use to support your email or letter and online comment.

Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority

Phillip A. Washington
One Gateway Plaza
Los Angeles, CA 90012-2952

Administrative Offices 213/922.6000

Here are emails of the MTA Board Members:

Sheila Kuehl, LA County Supervisor 3rd District: sheila@bos.lacounty.gov

Kathryn Barger, LA County Supervisor 5th District: Kathyrn@bos.lacounty.gov

Mike Bonin, LA City Counciler, mike.bonin@lacity.org

James Butts, Inglewood mayor, mayor@cityofinglewood

Robert Garcia, Long Beach mayor, Mayor@LongBeach.gov

Janice Hahn, LA County Supervisor 4th District, hahn@bos.lacounty.gov

Paul Krekorian, LA City Counciler, councilmember.krekorian@lacity.org

Ara Najarian, Glendale City Counciler, anajarian@glendaleca.gov

Mark Ridley-Thomas, LA County Supervisor 2nd District, markridley-thomas@bos.lacounty.gov

Hilda L. Solis, LA County Supervisor 1st District, firstdistrict@bos.lacounty.gov

Carrie Bowen, Caltrans (non-voting member), carrie.bowen@dot.ca.gov

Thank you for your support of motorists’ rights in southern California!

Not an NMA Member yet?

Join today and get these great benefits!