New Jersey S 1711 – Increases penalties for talking or texting on hand-held device while driving


Bill No.:
S 1711
Bill Location:
New JerseySenate
Bill Title:

Increases penalties for talking or texting on hand-held device while driving

Full Bill Text ›
NMA Recommendation:
Oppose

Senate Bill 1711 was introduced Feb. 5, 2018 and is a carryover of S 360. It has been referred to the Senate Law and Public Safety Committee but is not currently scheduled for a hearing or a vote. The Assembly counterpart bill is A 1244.

The bill would raise penalties in a manner out of reason with the nature of the violation:

  • A first offense fine of not less than $200 would be raised to not less than $250 or more than $400 and suspension of the person’s driver’s license for 90 days;
  • A second offense fine of not less than $400 would be raised to not less than $500 or more than $600 and suspension of the person’s driver’s license for two years
  • A third offense fine of not less than $600 or more than $800 would be raised to a fine of $1,000 and suspension of the person’s driver’s license for ten years.

Existing penalties are consistent with equal-risk violations of other traffic safety laws.

 


Not an NMA Member yet?

Join today and get these great benefits!