The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.
Points of Interest
Rural Interstates: Cars 75 (80 on specified segments), Trucks 75 (80 on specified segments)
Urban Interstates: Cars 65, Trucks 65
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 75, Trucks 75
Speed limits are presumed. (Driving faster than the speed limit is only evidence of unreasonable speed--you can still argue that your speed was safe under the specific conditions.)
Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Automated Speed Enforcement: No
Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts
Trial By Declaration Allowed
Jury Trial Allowed
Member of Nonresident Compact
Member of Driver License Compact
When and Where to File Accident Reports
Accidents involving death, personal injury, or property damage exceeding $1,000 must be reported within 10 days of completion of investigation to the Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver's License Division, 4501 South 2700 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84119.
Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
You can choose between a "split limit" or a "single limit" policy. The split limit is $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident. This also requires a minimum property damage coverage amount of $15,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident. The single limit is $65,000 per accident for all damages.
Also, Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage is required.
Utah is a "no-fault" state.
Novice Drivers: No special restrictions
School Bus Drivers: No special restrictions
All Drivers: Text-messaging prohibited, using primary enforcement
Utah law defines careless driving as committing a moving violation (other than speeding) while distracted by use of a hand-held cellphone or other activities not related to driving.
Telephone: 801/965-4518 (Highway Patrol) or http://www.utcourts.gov/howto/traffic/ (Utah State Courts, Traffic Offenses)
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: *11 or 911
These pages are created and managed by the volunteer efforts of NMA Activists, State Chapter Coordinators and members.
If your state doesn't currently have anyone serving in these roles, perhaps you'd like to consider it.
This page was last updated: August 2010