Fight Speeding Ticket

NMA State Chapters

Arkansas Motorist Information

The following information is updated periodically. However, laws and regulations can change between updates. State statutes and local ordinances are the ultimate authorities for these issues.

Discuss Arkansas motorists issues in the NMA Forum

Points of Interest

  • Arkansas requires that you have your headlights on whenever you are using your windshield wipers.
  • Arkansas has a "slower traffic keep right law" and is enforcing it.

Speed Limits

Rural Interstates: Cars 70, Trucks 65
Urban Interstates: Cars 55, Trucks 55
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 60, Trucks 60

These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.

Speed limits are absolute--exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se (regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions).

Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Pacing: Yes
Radar: Yes
Vascar: No
Automated Speed Enforcement: No
Aircraft: Yes
Laser: Yes

Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts

Trial By Declaration Allowed

Jury Trial Allowed
Speeding: Yes*
Parking: Yes*
Equipment: Yes*
DWI: Yes*

* Only on appeal to circuit court

Member of Nonresident Compact

Member of Driver License Compact

When and Where to File Accident Reports
Motor vehicle accidents which result in damage to the property of any one person in excess of $1000.00 or in bodily injury to or in the death of any one person must be reported within thirty days via an SR-1 form. You can use this web page to file.

Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $25,000
All injuries: $50,000
Property Damage: $25,000

Phone/Texting Restrictions
Hand-Held Ban: Drivers ages 18 to 20 years of age
All Cell Phone Ban: School bus drivers and drivers younger than 18
Texting Ban: All drivers
Enforcement: Primary: for texting by all drivers and cell phone use by school bus drivers/Secondary: for cell phone use by young drivers

Other Regulations

  • Transporting open intoxicants is permitted in the vehicle, but the operator and all passengers are prohibited to drink in vehicle.
  • The BAC level is .08%. Under age 21 the BAC level is .02%.
  • Arkansas has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 6-month driver's license revocation.
  • Handguns must be unloaded and cased; glove compartment carry of a handgun is presumptively illegal; rifles and shotguns may be carried in plain view or secured in a case.
  • Studded tires are permitted from November 15 to April 15.
  • Tire chains are not required.
  • Arkansas has a seat belt law with primary enforcement.
  • Arkansas has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 6 years of age and weighing less than 40 pounds. Children under age 4 must use approved car safety seats.
  • Arkansas has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law for persons under 21 years of age.
  • Registration and insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.

General Information
Telephone: 501/682-4661 (Department of Motor Vehicles)
Emergency Cellular Phone Number: 911

Go Back To NMA State Chapter Home Page

These pages are created and managed by the volunteer efforts of NMA Activists, State Chapter Coordinators and members.

If your state doesn't currently have anyone serving in these roles, perhaps you'd like to consider it.

When you see a police car on the side of the road, it should make you feel more safe.
So why doesn't it?

Across the United States, even the most careful, safe drivers on the road would probably admit to being nervous when they spot a police officer enforcing traffic laws. Instead of inspiring feelings of safety, our traffic laws are used to create fear. Can this ever change?

This page was last updated: August 2010

Join National Motorists Association

© National Motorists Association